Cookies on the DFA website

We use cookies to give the best experience on our site while also complying with Data Protection requirements. Continue without changing your settings, and you'll receive cookies, or change your cookie settings at any time.

Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 - Designated Public Officials

The Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 commenced on 1 September 2015.

The Act provides that the Standards in Public Office Commission will establish and maintain an online Register of lobbying activity, making information available to the public on the identity of those communicating with designated public officials on specific policy, legislative matters or prospective decisions. Lobbyists must report on their interactions with the Designated Public Officials.

Section 6(4) of the Act requires each public body to publish a list of Designated Public Officials of that body. The list is a resource for lobbyists filing a return to the Register who may need to source a designated public official’s details. The list of Designated Public Officials of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade is set out in the list below:

  • Mr. Simon Coveney: T.D. Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade.
  • Mr. Ciarán Cannon: T.D. Minister of State for the Diaspora and International Development.
  • Ms. Helen McEntee: T.D. Minister of State for European Affairs.
  • Ms. Caitríona Fitzpatrick: Special Adviser to the Tánaiste.
  • Mr. Matthew Lynch: Special Adviser to the Tánaiste.
  • Mr. Chris Donoghue: Special Adviser to the Tánaiste.
  • Mr. Paul Fox: Special Adviser to the Minister of State for European Affairs.
  • Mr. Niall Burgess: Secretary General.
  • Ms. Geraldine Byrne Nason: Second Secretary General.
  • Mr. Michael Collins. Second Secretary General.
  • Mr. Rory Montgomery: Second Secretary General.
  • Mr. Adrian O'Neill: Second Secretary General.
  • Mr. Brendan Rogers: Deputy Secretary General.
  • Mr. Ruairí de Búrca: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. John Conlan: Chief Financial Officer.
  • Ms. Maeve Collins: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Ann Derwin: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Michael Gaffey: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Austin Gormley: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Joe Hackett: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Tom Hanney: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Justin Harman: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Sonja Hyland: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Barbara Jones: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. J P Kavanagh: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Declan Kelleher: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. James Kingston: Legal Adviser.
  • Mr. Eamonn McKee: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Dan Mulhall: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Fergal Mythen: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Aingeal O'Donoghue: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Patricia O'Brien: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Colm Ó Floinn: Assistant Secretary.
  • Ms. Orla O'Hanrahan: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Eoin O'Leary: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. Barrie Robinson: Assistant Secretary.
  • Mr. John Concannon: Assistant Secretary. 

Transparency Code

Ms Fiona Flood, Director of Security, Coordination & Compliance Unit, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, is the Nominated Official to liaise with the Standards in Public Office Commission (SIPO).

Section 5(7) of the Regulation of Lobbying Act 2015 provides that the Minister for Public Expenditure and Reform shall prepare and publish a code, to be known as the "Transparency Code", which sets out how certain relevant public bodies, such as ministerial advisory groups, certain working groups etc. may conduct their activities in a transparent way.

By adhering to the Transparency Code, communications within these bodies would meet the exemption from the requirement to register and report on lobbying activities.

Relevant groups exempted under the Transparency Code are the Brexit Stakeholder Forum and the Export Trade Council.


The Standards Commission has a role under the legislation to issue guidance and information and to promote an understanding of the legislation. The Standards Commission, in co-operation with the Department of Public Expenditure & Reform, has published guidance on the Regulation of Lobbying Act for Designated Public Officials.

Further information regarding the legislation and further guidance on the Act is available on the Regulation of Lobbying website at Further information may also be obtained by contacting the Standards Commission at or at 01-6395722.